Last updateJeu, 29 Jan 2015 10am

EAC's science and technology commission to be based in Rwanda

Science and technology - Rwanda will from July host the seat of the East African Science and Technology Commission, according to the agreement signed at the seat of the East African Community (EAC) in the Tanzanian city of Arusha.

An EAC statement Tuesday said the commission's main goal is to promote and coordinate development, management and application of science and technology in EAC member countries.

During the signing of the agreement, Rwanda's Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Louise Mushikiwabo said her country would support the new commission so that science and technology can benefit all citizens of EAC member countries

The commission's budget for 2014-2015 is US$1.8 million.

Pana 12/03/2014