Last updateJeu, 29 Jan 2015 3pm

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards

2 West African researchers receive Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards - This year’s African Union (AU) Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for top African researchers have been presented to two scientists from Burkina Faso and Nigeria.

The awards, sponsored by the European Union through the AU Support Programme, have been presented here to the winners at the ongoing 22nd Ordinary Session of the AU Assembly.

The Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards recognize top African researchers who engage in pioneering research aimed at contributing to the wellbeing and improved quality of life for the continent’s citizens.

Prof. Andre Bationo of Burkina Faso, a soil scientist working on soil fertility, won in the field of Earth and Life Sciences; while Prof. Kayode Oyebode Adebowale of Nigeria, a chemist working on industrial, food, analytical and environmental chemistry, took the award in the field of  Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

The EU support to the awards programme forms part of the EU-Africa Partnership on Science, Information Society and Space.

Since the launch of the awards in September 2008 by the AU, the EU has contributed over 2 million euros in prizes and, this year, it has reaffirmed its commitment to support African human resources, science and technology initiatives in the future.

The Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards programme has different categories, including for female African researchers at sub-regional level and continental level.

Pana 02/02/2014