Last updateDim, 25 Jan 2015 7pm

African Union: South Africa, Niger join AU PSC

African Union (AU) Peace and Security Council - South Africa and Niger are among the 10 countries elected Tuesday in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, as new members of the African Union (AU) Peace and Security Council for a two-year term, PANA reported Wednesday, quoting diplomatic sources here. Also elected were Chad and Burundi for Central Africa, Ethiopia and Tanzania for Eastern Africa, Libya for North Africa, Namibia for Southern Africa and Guinea and Gambia  for West Africa.

The mandate of the current members will expire on 31 March, paving the way for the new members take over 1 April, the sources said.

PANA reports that the election took place as part of the activities of the 24th ordinary session of the Executive Council, which is preparing the agenda for the 30-31 Jan. AU Summit here.

Unlike the other countries that were elected as fresh members, Tanzania, Guinea and Gambia were re-elected after serving in the current term alongside Cameroon, Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Angola, Lesotho, Cote d’Ivoire and Libya.

The Peace and Security Council is the AU organ responsible for the promotion  of peace, security and stability in Africa.

The Council is composed of 15 countries, of which five are elected to 3-year terms, and 10 to 2-year terms, but member states are immediately re-eligible upon the expiration of their mandate.

Members are elected to reflect regional balance within the continent,, among other criteria that include capacity to contribute militarily and financially to the Union, political will to do so, and effective diplomatic presence at Addis Ababa, the headquarters of the organization in Ethiopia.

Pana 29/01/2014